Valentines day box for school easy diy

This year I didn’t have a lot of time on my hands to make a fancy valentine’s day box for my daughter. So I had to come up with something fast to do last minute while still doing something my daughter would be excited about. And since rig now she is obsessed with Frozen I decided to go grab a Frozen present wrapping paper from the store and make something cute and easy.

You will need a wrapping paper of your choice, a shoe box, tape, box cutter, pen, scissors, and about 24 inches of soft ribbon.
On the inside part of the box cover draw a heart. It doesn’t have to be perfect.
I cut the side that looked the best and fold that part in in order to make it symmetrical and I cut accordingly.

After cutting out the heart I wrapped it in the paper through the outside. Once the cover is wrapped I cut the inside of the heard through the back and folded the paper in and used tape to hold it down.

On the box with the cover on it I cut and “x” shape on each side with my box cutter. This will be used to put the ribbon through it to use it as a handle.
Once the push the ribbon through the “x” shape cuts make a knot on the inside to hold it in place. You can also use tape to secure it.

Next I will add a quick time lapse video of how I wrapped the box. The only trick was to make a small cut on each side where the ribbon is. And use tape to hold it in place.

I hope this helps if you need a little help on a last minute valentine’s day project for your child’s school. You can also get creative and add your own take to this project by putting you child’s name with colorful paper or adding heart stickers. 😉

Leave a comment